Quick Answer: Does someone know if you share their post on Facebook?

If a post has been shared, it’ll tell you the name of the person and how many hours ago they shared it. You may also receive an email informing you of this, depending on if you have email updates set up.

Can someone see if you’ve shared their post?

If you share someone’s post through DM then they won’t be notified. But if you share their post in your story they can see it if your account is public. If your account is private, then they won’t be able to see it even if you share it in your story.

How do you share something on Facebook without anyone knowing?

Personal Wall Posts

  1. Launch your Web browser and log in to Facebook.
  2. Write a status update or select an image or video to post to your wall.
  3. Click the “Public” or “Friends” menu next to the Post button and select “Only Me” from the drop-down menu.
  4. Click the “Post” button to post visible only to you.
THIS IS SIGNIFICANT:  You asked: How do you edit or delete a post on Facebook?

What happens when you share a post on Facebook?

When you share someone else’s post, that post isn’t placed on your own Timeline. Instead, your share is merely a “pointer” to the original post. In other words, when you share someone’s post you’re basically telling your Facebook friends that you like that post and they should check it out.

Why do I get notifications when someone shares something on Facebook 2020?

Most Facebook notifications tend to be a result of your own interactions with the site. You get notifications because you comment on posts, join groups or follow pages. The less you do of these things, the fewer notifications you’ll receive.

Can you like a post on Facebook without anyone knowing?

You can hide your likes on Facebook by setting your likes to private, without having to unlike the person, brand, or product you liked.

Can I be on Facebook without friends knowing?

If you want to log into Facebook without your friends knowing you’re online, you can easily turn off your “active status” so you appear offline. There are three different places where you can control your active status: on Facebook in a web browser, in the Facebook mobile app, and in the Facebook Messenger mobile app.

Who can share my Facebook posts?

You can change privacy settings on an individual post that you want to make shareable by clicking the “Privacy” icon next to the post time stamp and selecting either “Friends” or “Public.” Select “Friends” if you want friends to be able to share the post or select “Public” if you want anyone to be able to see the post.

THIS IS SIGNIFICANT:  Do hashtags matter on twitter?

What is the difference between sharing and posting on Facebook?

The difference between sharing vs.

The biggest restriction is the original user’s privacy settings. According to Facebook, if someone’s setting says the post can only be seen by their friends, then sharing the post will only show the content to your mutual friends.

Why can’t I see who shared my post on Facebook?

Depending on the ‘Privacy Settings’ of the persons, you might not see the name of everybody that shared your post on Facebook. If the people that shared your post, shared it with the privacy setting of ‘Friends’ or ‘Only Me’, then you will not see their name if you are not friends on Facebook with them.

What does it mean when someone shares a post with just you?

Shared privately: The post was shared with specific people. You may not be able to see all of the people who got the post. Shared only with you: The post was only shared with you. No one else got it.

Why do I get notified when someone shared a post?

It’s because he added you to his Close friend list. Click Edit Friend List > Check Close Friends > Done! Later on, you’ll get notified every time he posts something new. Facebook will let him know that you’ve added him as a Close Friend.

Why does Facebook Tell me when someone comments on someone else’s post?

If you comment on a post, post notifications will automatically be turned on. If you turn on notifications for a post, you’ll get notified whenever someone comments on the post. You won’t get notified when someone replies to a comment. Go to the post that you’d like to turn notifications on or off.

THIS IS SIGNIFICANT:  What does it mean to turn off notification dots on Facebook?

Why do I get notified when someone posts a story on Facebook?

Adjust your notification settings in the Messenger app for stories. Notifications about stories follow your other notification settings on Facebook. For example, if your notifications for Close Friend activity are turned on, you’ll get notifications about stories from people on your Close Friends list.