Frequent question: When you delete a conversation on Facebook does the other person still have it?

To delete your copy of an entire conversation on the Facebook website, click on the gear icon next to a conversation to open the Settings menu and click “Delete conversation.” You’ll be asked to confirm that you want to delete the conversation permanently and, if you do so, it is deleted from your account, but not from …

Does deleting a conversation on Messenger delete it for the other person?

Yes. Your act of deleting the conversation on your end will not delete the conversation on the other person’s ends. If you were to delete your account, they could still see the conversation, but instead of your name, the other person would see you listed as a ‘facebook user’.

How do I permanently delete my Facebook messages on both sides?

Steps to Delete Facebook Messages From Both Sides

  1. On your phone, tap and hold the message you want to delete.
  2. Then select Remove.
  3. Tap the Unsend option when asked who you want to remove the message for.
  4. Confirm your choice when prompted to do so.
THIS IS SIGNIFICANT:  You asked: Can you delete everything on Facebook?

Do people know if you delete Facebook conversation?

For up to 10 minutes after a message is sent, users will soon have the option to delete that message from the conversation. … Recipients will receive a text alert telling them that something was deleted from the chat, and recipients can still see and read the messages you’ve “unsent” via that notification.

Does deleting a conversation delete it for everyone?

Note: Deleting a conversation deletes your copy of messages in a conversation. It will only be deleted for you and not the other participant.

What happens when you delete a conversation on Facebook Messenger?

You’ll be asked to confirm that you want to delete the message and, if you do so, your copy of the conversation is permanently erased. … The message is then deleted from your copy of the conversation, but it remains in the correspondence of anyone you sent it to.

What happens when you delete a conversation?

Delete conversation—Permanently deletes your copy of a conversation’s history. It doesn’t delete the conversation from other participants’ history.

Will Blocking someone on Facebook delete messages?

Nope. Blocking someone will not delete the conversation thread from any side. In other words, the old conversations will remain in Messenger, and you will be able to read them until you manually delete the chat thread.

How do I delete a whole conversation on Messenger?

To delete an entire conversation using Messenger for Android, tap and hold your finger down on a conversation, then tap Delete.

How do you delete Messenger chats from everyone?

Open a conversation with messages you’d like to delete. Press and hold on a message, or select the three dots menu icon on desktop. Select “remove” next to the message. Select “remove for everyone” — that makes sure that the messages disappear from the inboxes of the people you sent them to, not just from your own.

THIS IS SIGNIFICANT:  How do I create a username for my Facebook business page?

Are deleted messages on messenger gone forever?

Unfortunately, when you delete a message in the Facebook Messenger app, it’s permanently deleted, according to Facebook Messenger’s official policy. … To see if your message is archived, simply go into the Messenger app and search a few keywords in the search bar.

What is vanish mode on messenger?

Messenger From Facebook offers an optional “Vanish Mode” that causes messages to automatically disappear from chats once they’ve been seen. When Vanish Mode is turned on for a chat, all “seen” messages will disappear when the user closes the chat.