Put simply, if you want to stop using Facebook for good, delete it. On the other hand, if you prefer taking a temporary social media detox, deactivate your account instead. … Once your account is reactivated, you’ll regain access to your photos and posts, and also get reconnected to your followers and Facebook groups.
Is deactivating Facebook a good idea?
When you stop using a social networking profile or website, it is a good idea to deactivate or delete your account. This will mean that your content is no longer visible online and should not be searchable online. It will also remove the risk of these accounts being used by others or hacked without you knowing.
Should I delete or deactivate?
Deletion is more permanent. We’ll cover both here as they have different implications for your personal privacy. Generally, however, deactivation means there’s still personal information about you online. Deleting Facebook doesn’t mean all your details will be erased, though.
Does deleting Facebook actually delete everything?
“When you delete your account, all the user generated content is normally erased (although there are small exceptions), while all the log data is preserved – forever.” The preserved log data won’t have your name attached to it.
Why you should not delete Facebook?
7 Legit Reasons Not to Delete Facebook (For Now…)
- 1. Facebook Helps You Stay in Touch. …
- You Can Land a Job on Facebook. …
- 3. Facebook Can Support Your Mental Health. …
- 4. Facebook Supports Your Love Life. …
- 5. Facebook Helps You Get Informed Quickly. …
- 6. Facebook Can Be a Support Group. …
- 7. Facebook Can Make You Feel Loved.
Why you should delete your Facebook?
Here are 3 good reasons to delete your Facebook account in 2021.
- Facebook collects huge amounts of data on you. It’s never been a secret—Facebook collects huge amounts of data on you. …
- WhatsApp shares your data with Facebook. …
- Facebook tracks you as you browse other apps and websites. …
- Should you quit Facebook altogether?
What happens after deactivating Facebook?
When you deactivate your account, Facebook saves all of your settings, photos, and information in case you decide to reactivate your account. Your information isn’t gone—it’s just hidden. … If you’d like to save photos and posts from your account, click Download Info. Then click Delete Account.
What is the difference between deactivating and deleting Facebook?
The biggest difference between deactivating and deleting a Facebook account is that deactivating your Facebook account gives you the flexibility to return whenever you wish, while deleting your account is a permanent action.
Is deactivating the same as deleting?
Tip: The main difference between deactivating and deleting a user is that a deactivated user can be reactivated while deleting a user is permanent. Keep in mind that if a user is deleted from the account and then needs to be added back to the account, they will be added as a brand new user.
What do my friends see when I deactivate Facebook?
When you deactivate your Facebook account, Facebook does not send out any notification whatsoever. Your friends won’t know that you’ve deactivated your account unless they try to search for your now-deactivated profile or they ask you in the real world.