Frequent question: When you delete Facebook messages are they gone forever?

Unfortunately, when you delete a message in the Facebook Messenger app, it’s permanently deleted, according to Facebook Messenger’s official policy. This is great for privacy but can become a problem if you delete something valuable by mistake.

Are deleted Facebook messages permanently deleted?

You delete Facebook messages from your own conversations using the Facebook website on your computer or the Messenger app on your phone. … You’ll be asked to confirm that you want to delete the message and, if you do so, your copy of the conversation is permanently erased.

Does Facebook ever delete messages that were deleted off both sides of the conversation?

To delete messages on Messenger from both sides, hold the message, select “More…”, select “Remove”, and tap on “Unsend”. … After you’ve tapped on “Unsend”, the message will be deleted from your side of the chat and the receiver’s side of the chat. The “Unsend” option means to delete the messages from both sides.

How do I permanently delete Messenger messages?

Launch Facebook’s Messenger app. Tap and hold any of the desired conversations to find the option to delete it. If you want to delete a particular message, head into the conversation and then tap and hold the exact message which you want to delete as shown in the image below.

THIS IS SIGNIFICANT:  What is Facebook emergency?

Will deleting messenger delete messages?

Only deleting your account completely deletes the message. Deleting the messenger application doesn’t deleted it. When you install it again and reuse it with the same account, then it will be sent. But, you can delete it from your and his side right directly after you have sent it.

Does Blocking someone on Facebook delete messages?

If You Block Someone, Does It Remove the Conversation

Nope. Blocking someone will not delete the conversation thread from any side. In other words, the old conversations will remain in Messenger, and you will be able to read them until you manually delete the chat thread.

What happens when you delete Facebook and Messenger?

You can keep using Messenger after you deactivate your Facebook account. If you had a Facebook account and deactivated it, using Messenger won’t reactivate your Facebook account, and your Facebook friends can still message you. Download the Messenger mobile app if you don’t already have it.