Does Facebook delete your data when you delete your account?

Deactivating your Facebook account won’t delete any of your data, but it will make your page inaccessible to other users. It might be a good option if you want to take a break from Facebook but don’t want to go so far as deleting your account entirely.

Does Facebook delete all your data when you delete your account?

Deleting your account, on the other hand, gets rid of most everything, including your name, contact information and nearly all of what you ever sent or posted on Facebook. You won’t be able to restore your account if you ever change your mind and want to return.

What happens to your data when you close your Facebook account?

When you deactivate your account, Facebook saves all of your settings, photos, and information in case you decide to reactivate your account. Your information isn’t gone—it’s just hidden. … You should only do this if you are absolutely sure you want to permanently delete your Facebook account.

THIS IS SIGNIFICANT:  Best answer: How do you delete multiple Instagram conversations?

Can you really delete a Facebook account?

To delete your Facebook account forever:

Select Settings & Privacy, then click Settings. Click Your Facebook Information in the left column. Click Deactivation and Deletion. Choose Permanently Delete Account, then click Continue to Account Deletion.

Can police find a deleted Facebook account?

No, the police can ask Facebook directly. They don’t have to attempt to log into that account themselves. They have a screencap of the username, date/time, and the particular comment/conversation that happened.

How do I permanently delete my Facebook history?

Tap in the top right of Facebook, then tap your name.

  1. Tap below your profile picture, then tap Activity Log.
  2. Tap Filter at the top, then scroll down and tap Search History.
  3. In the top left, tap Clear Searches.

Are Deleted Facebook messages gone forever?

You’ve probably deleted a Facebook message at least once in your life. Maybe you were annoyed at that person, or perhaps you wanted to organize your inbox. But whatever the reason, the chat is gone from your app and computer forever once you delete it.

What do friends see when you delete Facebook account?

When your Facebook account is deactivated:

  1. No one else can see your profile.
  2. Some information, like messages you sent to friends, may still be visible.
  3. Your friends may still see your name in their friends list. …
  4. Group admins may still be able to see your posts and comments, along with your name.

Why does it take 30 days to delete a Facebook account?

Originally Answered: Why does Facebook take 30 days to delete account? Deletion at Facebook’s scale is a difficult problem. Essentially, Facebook is defragging its data, and choosing not to retain your information as it generates new archival volumes.

THIS IS SIGNIFICANT:  Frequent question: Is Instagram a web app?

How long does Facebook keep deleted data?

After deleting your Facebook account, you’ll have a 30-day window to change your mind. Once those 30 days are up, all your information will be permanently deleted and inaccessible.

Is it illegal to create a fake Facebook account?

In California, for example, a new law makes it a misdemeanor for someone to make a fake Facebook profile of a real person if the purpose of the fake profile is to harm, intimidate, threaten, or defraud. Conviction could result in up to a year in jail and a fine of $1,000.

Can a fake FB account be traced?

Yes. Facebook keeps track of log-in locations and IP information to make sure that accounts are protected from unusual activity and hackers trying to gain access to sensitive information.